We have a very large EE installtion for one of our clients.
Our server set up / workflow is Local >> Staging >> LIve
We need to carry out some work for the client. So we pull the database and files down from live. We make the changes and then we push the database and templates from staging back up to live.
HOWEVER in doing this, if the client has added anything else to live while we were working on staging, this is lost when we push the database and templates back up and overwritten with our version.
What work flows do people have for getting round this?