0

I've just created a new channel; after populating it with content, I went to view it in the front end to find the channel:entries tag outputting zero content. On checking the channel's entries in the back end I discovered that none of the data I'd entered had been retained. I've tried re-entering data several times but it's never retained.

There's nothing weird about this channel; it consists of a single Grid field that is basically a near-exact copy of a Grid used in another channel -- which works fine. (The only difference, other than a different field name, is the removal of one column).

I've looked through the channel preferences (which, in any case, I created by duplicating the other Grid channel's prefs at the time I created the problematic channel) but can't see anything that might prevent a channel from storing data.

Can anyone suggest anything that might be causing this refusal to retain data?

[Additional info: when I originally created the channel I set it to make use of the 'Single Entries' add-on. I've removed it from that add-on so that it's now a 'normal' channel again, but it makes no difference; data is still not retained].

1

Figured it out. The problem arose from the fact that when I created the channel (channel B) I opted to duplicate the preferences of a channel (channel A) that had its 'Title' and 'URL Title' fields hidden via Publishing Layouts and the 'Hidden Tab' add-on. Channel A was set as a 'Single Entry' channel via that particular add-on, so its title and URL title were no longer needed in the editing page and could safely be hidden, reducing clutter).

By choosing to use the preferences of Channel A in creating Channel B, I also gave it the same Publishing Layout. So I was entering data into the channel but not giving it a Title or a URL Title (because those fields were hidden, out of sight and out of mind).

Temporarily making those fields visible again meant that I could populate them with data and thus have the entry retained. Having done so I could once again make the channel a 'Single Entry' type and safely re-hide the fields, since all further changes to that channel would be edits, not publishing new entries.

Anyway, I thought I'd post the cause and the solution here in case anyone else runs into the same problem, which is really just a consequence of duplicating the preferences of a visually-decluttered channel. Logical, but not necessarily immediately-obvious.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.