2

I'm re-vamping a site, and we have updated the categories. At the moment I have two category groups, the old one and the new one. The old one will never be used again, but I'd prefer to keep the assignments, for posterity.

If I un-assign the old category group from the channels in question (so it doesn't show up in the editor), will those category assignments be lost?

  • I will go through and mark where appropriate, but sometimes there just isn't an answer. – Tim Jan 10 '13 at 23:11
  • 1
    No problem. If you found a different answer, always remember to post and accept it. Otherwise, if your problem is still unsolved, feel free to add a bounty. – Adrian Macneil Jan 11 '13 at 1:15
1

Looking at the function which runs when Channel Group Assignments are updated, I'm going to say no, your categories will not be unassigned when removing a category group from a channel, so that's safe to do.

(After you backup your database of course, haha.)

UPDATE: as pointed out below, if you later edit these entries which have now-hidden categories assigned, those old category associations will be lost when the entry is updated. (This is because EE deletes all category associations and creates them all anew with the posted category data each time an entry is updated.)

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    Derek, that is at the moment you remove a cat-group. What will happen when you edit an entry and save it? won't it remove any non-selected categories (e.g. the old ones that are not showing?) – GDmac Jan 15 '13 at 9:02
  • An excellent point - yes, if the old entries are edited with the old category group no longer assigned, the old category associations will be lost. Will revise answer! – Derek Hogue Jan 15 '13 at 13:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.