1

Whenever a user hits the back button in Google Chrome, if the previous page was password protected - it asks the user to login again even though they already are. Refreshing the page does display the protected content, but this is not a great experience.

Anyone else experiencing anything similar with the last couple Chrome releases?

2
  • Do you mean password-protected with HTTP authentication? – Derek Hogue Apr 11 '13 at 21:35
  • 2
    I would say this is the expected behavior. The back button should take you back one step in your history. It should show you what you were looking at. If it did a refresh, the content might be different to what you were seeing. – Jason Varga Apr 12 '13 at 2:58
1

Are you talking about a member login area in the front-end templates or in the control panel? I'm using the latest version of Chrome and I don't have that problem with either.

It sounds like a session or cookie problem. In Admin > Security & Privacy > Security & Sessions, what do you have your Control Panel Session and User Session set to?

Try this:

enter image description here

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.